I went to the first meeting of my book club the other day (to discuss Nick Flynn’s memoir “Another Bullshit Night In Suck City”).  Like most book clubs, it is partly an opportunity to meet with like-minded literature afficienados over plates of dessert.

 But it did give me a glowy feeling to hear the oohs and aahs when I introduced myself as a librarian.  Apparently librarianship is a common “what I want to be when I grow up” fantasy for book club types.  So I guess I have a certain cache.

It got me wondering why my friendly local public library doesn’t seem to do much programming in this vein.  How hard is it to host a book discussion group in the library? All you really need is to offer up the space.  A librarian moderator would be great, but it’s not essential.  Just to advertise to the community that such an opportunity exists…I found this book club via Meetup.com, and apparently it has filled a major vacuum in the community.  All of these women (yes, we’re all women – that’s a whole other issue) are intelligent, engaged, creative, and simply looking for interesting literary discussion.  And an excuse to eat chocolate cake.  Isn’t that a niche that the library should try to fill?

